Colors

 

I smear color on tiles, watching different shades swirl together under my fingertips.

“Dammit, girl!” Heels click down the hall. “Why do you insist…” The woman’s eyes are wild, searching the corridor. She kneels in her nylons and clean skirt to look at the mess. “Well,” she tilts her head, “it’s a pretty one you’ve made here. You could have been an artist.” She yanks her sleeve over her hand and wipes away the colors. “No more. You’ll get us both killed. Understand?”

I stare at the women. She is always nice to me but I will find more colors.

 

 

Flash Fiction Challenge over at Carrot Ranch

 

March 16, 2017 prompt: No Art In 99 words (no more, no less) go down the rabbit hole to a place where art is not allowed.

 

Sarah Brentyn Reef 99 Words - sig

11 thoughts on “Colors

    • Ah! I thought the same! I wanted this one to be a bit longer (not too much) just to explain where/how she got the colors. But, since I didn’t have the space, I figured I’d use that to make the ending a bit…forceful and sad. She has to search to find things that make color and she’s going to do it again even though she’s putting this woman’s life at risk.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Without Art « Carrot Ranch Communications

  2. Hi Sarah,
    I love the physicality of this piece – smearing and swirling the colours. My fingers are tingling at the thought of the soft, cool, malleable paint.
    Then the heels click down the hall, and the work is wiped away. The woman is obviously not against the girl’s art, but fears repercussions should the activity be discovered.
    Great piece. Reminds me a bit of what’s happening in schools.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to the Shark

