Lost

 

She ran a brush through her daughter’s hair.

“Mrs. Nevins?” The door opened a crack. “Do you need anything?”

“No, I’m…” She looked at her lap. “Silly me. I’ve left the elastic on the table. Could you reach it?” She pointed to the sparkly, green hair band.

“Of course.” The nurse stepped in, grabbing the elastic and handing it over the bed.

“She loves this bright color. What do you call it?”

“I’d say ‘neon’.” The nurse paused. “I’m calling Dr. Nate to get your meds, okay?”

“Can I finish braiding her hair before the medicine makes her leave?”

 

 

Flash Fiction Challenge over at Carrot Ranch

September 9 Prompt: Lost – In 99 words (no more, no less) write a story about someone or something that’s lost.

 

Sarah Brentyn Reef 99 Words - sig

 

18 thoughts on “Lost

  1. Ha! Why do your stories never seem last minute!
    This is so poignant, Sarah. It is interesting that Mrs Nevin is aware of her hallucination and can enjoy it. So sad. She’d probably rather not have the medications which will be her back to reality. I wonder what happened to her daughter.

    Liked by 1 person

    • 🙂 I don’t know. But I’ll take that as a compliment!
      It is sad. I had a much longer version in my head, explaining things a bit more, answering questions about the daughter, etc. but, alas, with 99 words, this is what you get. (Her daughter died…I just don’t know how yet.)

      Liked by 1 person

    • Interesting. That would make sense, too. However the reader interprets it, it’s all good. I have been writing slightly longer pieces and now can’t figure out how I ever fit an entire story so neatly into so few words. I really appreciate your comment. Thanks. 🙂

      Like

    • I’m not sure. This is tricky. Especially because (at least at times) she’s aware of what’s happening to her. I might want to stay lost, too. But, knowing it’s not real, I might want to be medicated after awhile. It must get painful.

      (As a side note, isn’t it odd that we become so attached to our characters that we speak of them as if they were real? Actually…these comments are all from writers. Never mind.) 😉

      Like

  2. Pingback: Lost « Carrot Ranch Communications

Talk to the Shark

