The Guides

 

She’d always welcomed the voices.

Though Greta knew not to let on she was hearing people speak inside her head, she didn’t think it was a bad thing. They were angels. Guides.

Greta wasn’t a pretty girl and didn’t “grow into her looks”, as her mum used to say. But friends often described her as having a “Mona Lisa smile”.

It was the voices that formed her knowing grin. They moved with her in a steady rhythm, galloping alongside her own thoughts.

Until that one day.

The voices grew urgent, aggressive. They became a stampede that trampled her mind.

 

 

Flash Fiction Challenge over at Carrot Ranch

February 24, 2016 prompt: Galloping In 99 words (no more, no less) write a story about galloping


Sarah Brentyn Reef 99 Words - sig

 

27 thoughts on “The Guides

    • I know. “Galloping” was tough. Also the “lollipop” one. O_o It’s a fun challenge and I love it. I do. I love flash (especially these micro prompts) but I know what you mean. Sometimes the stories just are. Other times, they seem to be more hint fiction. Or at least a scene from a longer piece.
      Thanks, Eric. Always. For your support. ❤ #mast

      Liked by 2 people

  1. I liked your take on the prompt – ‘the guides’, voices in our head. Having voices that are like ‘angels’ stampede and trample a mind is scary. I hope my angels are kinder to me! Not all voices are kind. I definitely got and liked the the ‘Mona Lisa’ smile.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Galloping Stories « Carrot Ranch Communications

  3. You’ve painted a very clear picture of a remote and delusional character. It is very disappointing when those guides and angels, who promise so much hope, turn the tables and show their real colours. It reminds me of the experiences of someone close to me who suffered bipolar. It’s very sad.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Very well and sensitively written, Sarah. I have a very close and much respected friend who lives with schizophrenia. She seems to be strangely aware of when she’s delusional and knows her voices and seems to admit herself, which seems quite different to other stories I’ve read. Anyway, one night, she could hear this new voice and she was a bit confused and I guess concerned as well. Turned out there was another patient sharing the room It was their voice. My friend tells this story with great humour as so many of us do with dark moments.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to the Shark

