Dinner for Two

 

“I dare you.”

“Whatever.”

“It’s just lipgloss, not a car. Anyway, you won’t get caught.”

“How do you know?” Cindy glared.

“It’ll be hidden in that oversized backpack you always carry.” She patted Cindy’s bag.

“I don’t need it,” Cindy slapped her friend’s hand away.

“You know you want it,” she taunted. “C’mon. It’s pretty and you don’t have any money.”

 

Two buses later, Cindy stood at the end of her street. She kicked rocks along her path, ran up the dirt drive, and pushed the door open. “Mama? I’m home!” Unzipping her backpack, she shouted, “I brought dinner!”

 

 

Flash Fiction Challenge over at Carrot Ranch

October 7, 2015 prompt: Stealing – In 99 words (no more, no less) write a story about a thief or a theft. Consider motives and repercussions. Is the act a matter of perception? Is it a daring maneuver or a desperate bid for survival? Think about different instances of stealing.

 

Sarah Brentyn Reef 99 Words - sig

 

11 thoughts on “Dinner for Two

  1. This is one of those stories that the more I think about it, the more emerges. Such great taunting followed by practical action — not lip gloss, but dinner. Wow. You got the right pieces in place to make this one pop! And good job on the photo!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Sarah. I’m sorry. I must have left my brain outside to dry too long. The beginning tells me that Cindy was resisting the peer pressure to shoplift. I like that. Good choice. But I don’t understand the ending. Her friend said she didn’t have any money, but she has traveled on two buses and brought dinner. Both of those things indicate she had money. What am I missing? Were her bus tickets pre-paid, and had she already bought dinner?
    The initial part with the dialogue exchange is excellent. I like that Cindy “slapped” her friend’s hand away. She was obviously having no part of it.
    Well done. Your photo looks good too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah, well… Seems I’m losing my touch. I used to be able to pack so much into 99 words. So, while she didn’t steal the lipgloss, she did steal the dinner. Want vs. need. Thanks. I’m working on something to have for an image on all my 99 words.

      Liked by 1 person

        • I need to work on my 99 words a bit more. And I was getting so good at them… 😉 But thanks. I kind of like the image but might do something a little less simplistic. Or not. Don’t know. I just like having something to go with all my Carrot Ranch challenges.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Sometimes the 99 words well. Other times only slightly less so. Sometimes, as in this case, it is a reader issue!
          It’s a great idea to have an image to go with your Carrot Ranch challenges. I look forward to seeing what you decide upon. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Sorry that I am late to chime in. I think you did a great job here. I love that there seems so much more underlying this story that we don’t get to see:
    Who is that girl(?) to tease her so much? Cindy on the other hand seems to be a strong one, resisting so much teasing. And certainly she does not steal for some kind of thrill.
    Why does she have an “oversized backpack”, though? Seems almost like she is habutually stealing. That fits in with coming home and announcing so casually that she “brought dinner”. – Even if her mother didn’t know that she was so low on money, sure she would know that it is not that easy for her to just bring dinner. Maybe she even steals on her order?

    I think you did a great job, so many questions raised with 99 words.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There’s a lot of underlying story and implied character traits, circumstances, and so on…99 words, after all. Yes, the oversized backpack is the “habitual stealing” clue and, yes, she steals dinner often because they can’t afford it. She steals because they need to eat. Her mother knows…though hadn’t thought about whether she’s doing it because her mother told her to. Hmm… Anyway, thank you for the comment! 🙂 You’ve got me thinking, too.

      Like

Talk to the Shark

