The Set-Up

 

“Just do it,” Anna shoved him toward the door. “He’s alone—no witnesses.”

“I don’t know…”

“I’ll be right behind you.”

He placed his palm on the door, took a breath, and pushed. The room was filled with people seated around a dining table. They fell silent and stared. One man in a charcoal grey suit stood up. “Who the hell are you?”

“I’m,” he spotted Anna in the hall, having a giggle fit. “I’m the man who is in love with the devious, scheming…amazing woman you call ‘daughter’. I would be honored to call her ‘wife’. Sir.”

 

 

Flash Fiction Challenge over at Carrot Ranch

September 23 Prompt: Declaration – In 99 words (no more, no less) declare an intention in a story. Is it one person, a character speaking up or speaking out? Is it a group or a nation? Create a tension before or after the declaration. It can be private or public, big or small. Does it have power to those who state it or hear? What does it change?

 

Sarah Brentyn Reef 99 Words - sig

 

31 thoughts on “The Set-Up

    • Okay. You got me. I did say ‘creepy’. It was a set-up to lure you to the Reef. (See what I did there? I’m so clever I can’t even stand myself. Really. I can’t.) Yes, he does love her sense of humor. Pfft! Who wouldn’t? 😉 Thanks, friend.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Say it Strong & Clear! « Carrot Ranch Communications

Talk to the Shark

